Sep 16 2007

Cy Young Predictor Formula And Top Candidates In AL

The Cy Young Award is an honor given annually to the best pitchers in the Major Leagues. The award was first introduced in 1956 by Commissioner Ford Frick in honor of Hall of Fame pitcher Cy Young, who died in 1955. The award honors one pitcher in each league each year. The CYP (Cy Young Points) is calculated (give/take) based on the formula from the ESPN website that is stated below:

CYP = ((5*IP/9)-ER) + (SO/12) + (SV*2.5) + Shutouts + ((W*6)-(L*2)) + VB.

Innings Pitched (IP)
Earned Runs (ER)
Strikeouts (SO)
Saves (SV)
Wins (W)
Losses (L)
Victory Bonus (VB): A 12-point bonus awarded for leading their team to the division championship (pro-rated based on the current standings).

The two top candidates are Josh Beckett (Boston Red Sox) and C.C. Sabathia (Cleveland Indians). Here are their numbers below as of posting.

Beckett’s CYP: ((5*188.2/9)-67) + (180/12) + (0*2.5) + 0 + ((19*6)-(6*2)) + 8 = 162
Sabathia’s CYP: ((5*227/9)-81) + (198/12) + (0*2.5) + 1 + ((17*6)-(7*2)) + 8 = 158.8

If Josh Beckett can pitch the rest of his games like he did during the Yankees series, he will be the Cy Young Award winner for the American League.

beckett, sabathia, cy young, award, pitcher, mlb, baseball, AL

About the author

Timothy Haroutunian

Timothy Haroutunian is a ServiceNow Cloud Implementation Specialist at Acorio. ServiceNow is an IT Management solution that allows for a complete view of your IT and physical environment.

Permanent link to this article: http://www.armenianeagle.com/2007/09/16/cy-young-predictor-formula-and-top-candidates-in-al/


3 pings

  1. Cy Young Predictor Formula And Top Candidates In AL | EAGLE

    […] post by Timothy Haroutunian and software by […]

  2. Armenian Eagle » Beckett 20 Game Winner, Red Sox Head To Postseason

    […] which is the first of this year and first time since 2005. He is currently in a fight for the Cy Young award with C.C. Sabathia. Sox1Fan explains that Beckett Engraves Name On Cy Young Award and I agree with […]

  3. Josh Beckett Screwed Out Of 2007 AL Cy Young Award » Armenian Eagle

    […] is absolutely amazing, have the best winning record and all of the majors and still not receive the Cy Young Award. I guess I forgot the concept of baseball was to try and prevent the other team from scoring. Well, […]

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.